Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should focus their budgets more on environmental protection than on economic development.

We all know that governments need money to spend on different realms; this budget is limited; therefore, politicians need to decide where to invest the money. I firmly believe that governments should emphasize economic development. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, economic developments have significant positive effects on social security. When the government invests the budget in economic developments, there will be more job opportunities available; thus, unemployment rate will decrease. Because of this, people who used to threaten social security by robbing people would have a better chance to get employed and stop stealing. A friend of mine is a compelling example of this. He was an employee in Turkey with a nine-to-five job at an office when an economic crisis happened in 2010. Due to the crisis's impacts, the bureau he was working for had to downsize him to reduce its expenses. Suddenly, he lost everything and became homeless. His daughter was suffering from skin cancer, and her treatment did cost a lot. He had no choice to fulfill his and her daughter's needs but to steal money from people with his friends' help. By doing so, the neighbor wasn't safe anymore. It went on until the government made constructive decisions about the economic developments; thus, the company he used to work for gave him back his old job. Hadn't Turkey's government made the aforementioned decisions on economic developments, he would still live in the streets and threaten people.

Furthermore, economic development leads to the growth of people's life quality. Nowadays, living expenses are increasing, and families need to cut off some of them to outlast. In many cases, education is the most likely one. Five years ago, when my son was a seventeen-year-old teenager who was getting prepared to enter college, she asked me to pay for his extracurricular classes. At the moment, the aforementioned economic crisis raised life expenses so high that I couldn't afford his classes' fees. Fortunately, after a year government lent a hand to people by lowering the taxes. Thus, I could fund my own company. It was a life-changing tweak for me that improved my life quality. Hadn't the government taken down the taxes, I wouldn't have a great life as I do now.

In conclusion, I think governments should invest money in economic development. This is because economic developments improve social security, and also by growing economics, people will live a better life.