internet and children

With the advent of The internet and other related online facilities, many dimensions of our lives have been changed, and one of the most considerable dimensions is education. While some psychologists state that social networks, cell phones, and computer games have many adverse effects on children learning efficiency, some others play devil's advocate and argue that quite the contrary, they have many advantages. In my view, social networks, cell phones, and computer games have altered children's learning way in a fruitful one for two main reasons. First, the lockdown experience due to the Covid-19 proves that without the help of social networks and cell phones, children and students cannot communicate with each other, and more importantly, learn their lessons anymore. Hence, social networks, online activities, and cell phones are now a dispensable part of our lives. For example, during the lockdown, my four-year-old brother had to follow up his courses on the Telegram and download them regularly. However, he had to hand in his essays to his teachers every Friday morning. As a result, if there were not any social networks, like Telegram, most children would not have a chance to continue their school or other related activities during urgent circumstances, like Covid-19 prevalence.

Furthermore, social networks like YouTube, Coursera, and others can benefit students in many ways. For instance, a fifth-grade child who has not accessed to high-quality teachers and schools when he wants to rehearse for his TOEFL exam can use many efficient videos on YouTube and improve his language with the help of different channels which exist on it. Nevertheless, I have learned the MATLAB language, a problematic mathematic coding language, only by watching YouTube videos, and if I wanted to enroll in traditional classes near my hometown, I would have paid a great deal of money, and I would have wasted my time too. To put it in a nutshell, I believe that cell phones, online games, and social networks have more beneficial aspects than negative ones. Because children can use them under any condition whenever they want, and secondly, they can search on YouTube for many helpful videos about a variety of categories and genres, which help them meliorate their learning.