Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree that the governments need to allocate more money to arts rather than sports. I will discuss my reasonings in the following essay.

First, I believe one of the biggest issues is if the majority of people can appreciate and understand each field. for sports people do not need to have a vast amount of knowledge to understand what is happening. this means that all of the people can join the excitement of sports and enjoy the competion, but the same is not applicable for arts. In art people need to be knowledgable about different majors of the field and know how each part is connected to other parts to appericiate it. for example, every body understands that in volleyball you need to hit the ball so it hits the ground of the opponents field, but for arts you need to understand a lot more to tell the difference between good and bad art, and understand the judges decisions, while each and everyone holds their own perspective about good or bad art.

Second, Olympics is not just a program that people compete in but rather a show of each countries power this has held true for many years. this means that each country using fields and programms understandable by the majority of people in the world shows it's might and prestige, and the people of each country may even flaunt around the achievements of their fellow countrymen. For example, in the news when the anchor talks about a country they may say something like "this eternal winner of the swimming field..." this shows the importance and value of the achievements made during competitions, while the same cannot be said for arts, I have never heard competitions in arts pointed as a major issue between countries.

In conclusion, I believe that the allocated money towards sports cannot be divided and be given to the arts field, because sport is a field that everybody can understand and enjoy, and at the same time big events such as Olympics help raise the prestige of the winning country.