Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples.

Working in groups and teams is an essential factor in life. No matter what organization or company we join, we need to work in teams at one point. Therefore, there has been extensive debate about whether it is more efficient to evaluate students on their work separately or as a whole. I believe professors must assign students grades based on each individual's contribution.

First, one or two people are often exhausted after a group project. There are many cases where groupmates rely on only one or two members to complete and present the assignments. Yet, they gain the same score as the ones who did most, if not all, of the project, which leads to the exhaustion of a small number of members while others enjoy a free ride to a good grade. For example, in my last year of university, we had a group project for technical languages class. All my teammates other than one announced that they couldn't help much because their English was not good. I and my other groupmate did all the work, even making the PowerPoint slides. After finishing this assignment, I was exhausted, which led me to fall behind on some other tasks. Therefore, I believe that when groupmates are graded together, much of the responsibility may fall on one person's shoulder. At the same time, there would be no tangible awards for their hard work other than exhaustion.

Second, responsibility is an important factor in our life. In society, it is essential to take care of our assignments because, in the workplace, we are evaluated based on individual results, even when working as a team. Grading group assignments by considering each individual's contribution allows schools to train students for future responsibilities. For example, A friend of mine always relied on her group mates to earn a good grade. After graduation, she started working as an intern in a big company. She and the other interns were given a project to work on as a team. Due to competition between coworkers, nobody covered for her. The group leader revealed to the department chief that she had minimal participation in the assignment. Hence, she wasn't hired and had to look for a new job after her internship finished. Based on this experience, I believe that if grades were assigned individually, she would have been used to working effectively in a group and handling her responsibilities. Consequently, she could have gotten hired.

In conclusion, I believe grades need to be assigned individually based on each person's contributions. Not only does this allow students to understand how to take responsibility it makes it easier for some students to work as a team without getting exhausted.