Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a widely discussion on whether government should spend money on arts or on athletics. Some people think investment on arts will improve residents' cultural confidence which will benefit the country, while others claim that money spent on sports events will stimulate local economy and urge citizens to exercise and to build a healthy body. From my perspective, I believe arts and athletics are equally important for our nation. Thus, I think government should spend the same amount of money on sports and arts. My statement bases on following reasons.

On the one hand, spending money in support of athletics may encourage people spending time on exercise. If your country invest money on sports event like Olympic teams or build some new gyms, you are possibly inspired by such investment and want to learn more information about relative sports. Once you are interested in such events, the next step you take is possibly go outdoors and try out such events, and at the same time, the new courts built by local government also give you changes to do some exercise. Therefore, the money spent on athletics is very likely to attract people to exercise and eventually build a healthy body.

On the other hand, it's also important for government to support art which could receive result of improving in citizens' art sense. In most cases, art is a field that you need to put in a lot of money which can finally have outcomes. If the government choose not to invest money on arts, there be very possible that the future country will never produce any new valuable art pieces. Take my hometown as example, the local government decided to stop support city art center because of financial problem. And recently when the administration wanted to rebuild the place, they had hard time to find any people who have ability to charge of art center, because the former artist left the city and the neglect on art education lead to extinction of local artists. It's obvious that investment on arts are very necessary for a city or a country.

All in all, arts and athletics are both important for citizens' life. Arts offer us cultural confidence and athletics improve our health conditions. Thus, we need to support both arts and athletics.