Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny the importance of arts, but at the same time having well supported athletes can lead to more success in sport's fields for a country. It is my firm belief that having a well funded national sports team, if the funds lead to the team's success, is of greater importance. I will elaborate on this by stating a couple of reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, better supported sports teams will perform better in competitions, this way they have a higher probability of winning in international events such as the Olympics. As well as having the talent and training, athletics require professional trainers, and excellent fields and stadiums depending on the type of the sports, to have more efficient practice. This in turn has a direct effect on their performance and they become more successful in games and competitions. Now having a strong and trained national team will increase the chances of their success and this in turn will lead to the people's satisfaction and happiness.

Second, on the subject of the effects of a team's success on the people of that country, generally, people consider the triumph of their national team a great honor. In a world-wide event such as the Olympics or the world cup, people feel a national pride for their team and deeply care about it's success or failure. When people are invested in such a deep way in their athletics, there's no comparable joy for them than to see their national team win. For instance, I'm not much of a fan of sports myself but my country has a relatively well funded volley ball team that performs relatively good in international events and even i deeply enjoy watching them win and feel proud for my country. As for the people, they take to the streets and celebrate and dance after the wins and they truly feel happy in such moments.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that more people care about sports than arts, and more support and fund should be put into athletics specially into national teams. This is because a well funded team performs better and wins more and this in turn will lead to having happier people if its even for the limited duration of the international events.