Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In the educational process, grades have determining roles. In fact, it can shape the student’s future and lead them to different paths. There are many debates about whether the grades help the students to learn or not. Generally speaking, as far as I am concerned I believe that grades do not necessarily show that the students have learned the subject matter. I feel this because of two reasons: grade can encourage rote learning and they do not represent the students’ full capacities.

First of all, I think a mere focus on grade, might lead to rote learning. In the process of education, for many teachers and the students, final grades are very important and show the students capabilities and the teachers’ success. Of course for some students and teachers deep learning is more important than the grades. However, for most students grades are the only important outcome of the school year. Hence, many of them just focus on the final exams and try to memorize the course books to be able to answer to final exams’ questions and after the exams are over they soon forget everything that they have memorized. For example, I recall at the high school, I had to memorize mathematical formulas. Although my grades at math were high, I did not have a deep understanding of them and during the summer break, I would forget everything. This I think was the case for many of my classmates who only focused on gaining high grades.

In addition to rote learning, I believe that grades might not represent the students’ capabilities. Some teachers might think that high grades might reflect the students’ learning. However, many teachers’ believe that grades do not necessarily show learning. There are many factors that affect the students' behavior during the exam’s night. Hence, the exams, particularly the final exams, can not fully show the students’ mastery over the subject. Therefore, there is no direct connection between grades and learning. By a way of example, I remember during my sophomore linguistics was my favorite subject. I was one of the prominent students. During the final exam, I got sick and my grades in linguistics suffered a lot. On the other hand, my classmate who acted very poorly during the semester, stayed awake all nights before the exams and gained high remarks. That is why based on the grades we can not judge how much someone have learned something.