If you could study a subject that you have never had the opportunity to study. What would you choose? Explain your choice, using specific reasons and details.

We only live once, and there are a variety of choices in our lives that directly affect our future. Choosing a subject to study is one of the most influential choices that a person encounters in his/her life. I have pursued education in my B.A and M.A, and I am very grateful to God for this great opportunity. However, If I were given another chance to opt for a major to study, I would definitely pursue psychology, and such a belief is based on the reasons elaborated on below:

First, I think that a psychologist can cure peoples’ mentalities. In today’s hectic environment, many scientists assert that mental disease has increased unprecedentedly. The detrimental side-effects of mental disease on one person’s health, is as crucial as the physical disease, and it has to be treated and cared for similarly. The increasing needs to treat a variety of psychological problems, encourage me to choose this major. By a way of example, my father was forced to an early retirement several years ago. He was diagnosed with severe depression due to lots of pressure he had to burden at work place. When he got retired, he just stayed at home, and kept staring at one point for hours. However, thanks to his professional psychologist, his depression was treated, and he continued a healthy and happy life.

In addition to the psychologists’ ability to cure peoples’ mental problems, a successful psychologist can gain a handsome profit. The growing awareness toward the importance of mental health has increased the number of patients who visit psychology clinics every month on a regular basis. On the other hand, the money a patient has to pay to visit a psychologist is very substantial comparing to other areas in medical studies. For example, my friend who studied psychology has many patients in a week, and this job enabled him to buy a house and an expensive car after two years working. His job is quiet lucrative comparing to mine.

In conclusion, and on the basis of the aforementioned agreements, I would like to reiterate that I believe that If I had a chance to choose another major to study, I would choose psychology. I feel this because a psychologist can cure people’s mental disease which is an increasing issue these days, and because a successful psychologist can become wealthy after a short period of working.