Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In today’s life, many modern buildings are being built. However, there are many debates about whether to keep the old buildings or destroy them for the sake of newer more modern ones. I am of the opinion that saving the historical buildings is of a great importance. I feel this because the old buildings can give us a lot of precious information, and because they attract many tourists from all over the world. I will explore my reasons in the following essay:

First, I think that by studying historical building we can learn much about many aspects of peoples’ life who were living a long time ago. There are many ways that archeologists gather information about the past. However, studying buildings is a great method. Buildings are the prominent hallmarks’ of peoples’ culture, religious beliefs and the available technologies and so on. By a way of example, In Isfahan, a religious city in my country, there are many buildings that dates back to the time that the city was mostly influenced by religious kings In many parts of the city there are buildings with special architectures with beautiful miniaturists’ paintings on the front that represent how they were affected by religious believes. On the contrary, in another city called Shiraz, the study of old buildings’ architecture shows that the kings who were living there for a short period of time were mostly westernized. By studying these building and the dates they were built, we can find out how much the kings were influenced by religions.

In addition to the invaluable information, the historical buildings attract many tourists, and this can improve the city’s economic growth. There are many eager tourists traveling all over the world. If you ask them why they want to visit a especial city, many of them would say that they like to learn better about a city with an interesting background. Although there are many tourists who would rather visit modern buildings, an enormous number of them yet rather go to historical buildings. For example, in my country, the most visited cities by the tourists are the ones that kept and protected their historical buildings, and they have provided many job opportunities for the people there.

In conclusion on the basis of the aforementioned agreements, I would like to reiterate that I believe that keeping historical buildings is very beneficial. I feel this because they can tell us a lot about the people who lived before us, and because they are a great way to attracts tourists and visitors.