Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Advent of technology Not only has had conspicuous impacts on science and peoples’ life style, but also it has affected the way we communicate. There is much debate about whether the Television has destroyed the communication among family members and friends or not. Although some people believe that people spend most of their free time on watching Television instead of interacting with their friends and family members, I am of the opinion that Television programs have not hindered communication among family members and friends, and such a belief is based on the reasons elaborated on follow:

First, I think that one of the goals that social media especially television serves is to produce and broadcast programs that encourage relations among people. There is no doubt that not all the programs and films have moral lessons, or even worse, they might encourage violence and have negative impacts on people especially those under lawful age. However, I think Television programs especially those showed on state channels have the policy of showing films with plots that reinforce more intimate communications among people. By a way of example, in my country between 8 to 11 P.M when most of the people are free, and have time to watch Television, many of the series and films broadcasted are family genres which show family issues with moral lessons in the endings.

I addition to the Television programs, watching Television provides the opportunity for the family members or friends to gather and discuss many different subjects. People mostly watch Television when they want to relax and enjoy their time, that is why it provides them with a good reason to gather with their loved ones to enjoy their time even more. In addition, after watching television they have many subjects to talk about about the shows or the worldwide news they have seen on Tv. For example my friends and I normally gather on Friday night to watch a film together, and after the film is finished we discuss the details of the film. Consequently, beside providing the chance of seeing my friend, watching Television gives us the subject to talk. Otherwise we would most probably gossip about our colleagues at work.

In conclusion, and on the basis of the aforementioned agreements, I would like to reiterate that I believe that Television has not destroyed communication. I feel this because many of the films shown on Television encourage communication, and because watching Television provides us with the opportunity to get together with our friends and family members and give us the subjects we can talk about.