Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

Grade is a part of student life. No matter our age and major all students recieve grades that will be used in their evaluations in the future. Therefore, there have been debates about whether it is better to use a grading system or not. I don't believe grading students is an efficient way to enhance learning. I will explain my reasons in the following essay.

First, the pressure to achieve high scores often makes students nervous. In numerous environments students are pressured by family to achieve best results this can lead to high stress and multiple health issues. For example, when I was in elementary school, my classmate Azadeh was pressured by the expectations of her family and friends to achieve the best results. Whenever she recieved less than full marks she would break down crying and a few hours later she would complain of a stomachache and had to be taken to the clinic. At the time I couldn't understand why a grade would affect her this much. Afterward, I understood that her mental and physical health was endangered because the pressure of getting a high grade was high. Threfore, In my view if the grading system was renounced she wouldn't be so stressed about every mark that she recieved.

Second, there are many useless courses that are mandatory for students. The grading system is an evaluating factor; hence, students cannot focus on their future rather they have to pay attention to all classes so they could recieve high grades even in classes that will be of no use to their future careers. For example, I had to take a history class during my time as a computer science student. Even though the course had no correlations with my major I had to do well not to fail and recieve a decent grade so it wouldn't negatively affect my GPA. The professor of this course was very strict and I had to cut off time I could have used studying for computer related courses and use the majority of my time to study for a history class. Based on this experience, the grading system can divert our attention from important subjects.

In conclusion, I believe it is better to renounce the grading system because leads to students being pressured and divert their attention from essential courses.