Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Connecting is an essential factor of human life. Humans are social animals. Hence, no matter where we are we tend to communicate and connect. As a result, there have been discussions about whether it is better to offer network access and an internet connection to all citizens at no cost. In my view, There is a need for all citizens to have access to the internet free of charge.

First, some people cannot access offline education institutes. Some people may have medical issues preventing them from leaving their houses or living in environments with difficulties accessing an education center. For these people to have better education opportunities, it is essential to have free internet. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, many people couldn't leave their houses. Furthermore, there are many children in remote villages with no access to educational facilities, and poverty prevents them from leaving their hometowns to live in places with better facilities. Numerous children have to give up higher education due to the abovementioned situations. Free internet access can allow these people to access online courses resolving the issue. as you can see, free internet access can greatly impact the betterment of the citizens' education.

Second, mental health is an essential issue for everybody. When away from home and under financial pressure, connecting with our family and friends sustaining no costs, allows us to feel less lonely and depressed. For example, when Mahse, a friend of mine, migrated to another country, she was very lonely and was under a lot of stress due to financial issues. Mahsa explained that she would cry every night for six months and was going through a phase of depression. Her depressed mood went on until she had access to the internet, allowing her to connect with her family. She said that this connection allowed her to feel a lot better, and she felt happier. I believe there are many others with such an experience. So, by providing internet free of charge, these people can connect with their loved ones and lead better lives.

In conclusion, I believe it is essential to provide free internet access to all citizens because free internet access can guarantee better education and mental health.