Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples.

Working in groups and teams, is an important factor in life. No matter what organization or company we join we need to work in teams at one point. Therefore, there has been extensive debate about whether it is more efficient to evaluate students on their work separately or as a whole. In my view, professors need to assign students grades based on individuals’ contribution.

First, often times there is one or two people exhausted after a group project. There are many cases that groupmates rely on only one or two members to complete and present the assignments. Yet, they gain the same score as the ones who did most, if not all of the project. This leads to exhaustion of a small number of members while others enjoy a free ride to a good grade. For example, in my last year of university we had a group project for technical languages class. All my teammates other than one announced that they couldn't help much because their English was not good. All of the work even making the PowerPoint slides fell on me and my other groupmate. After finishing this assignment, I was totally exhausted, which led me to falling behind on some other assignments I had. Therefore, I believe that when groupmates are graded together much of the responsibility may fall on one person’s shoulder, while there would be no tangible awards for their hard work other than exhaustion.

Second, responsibility is an important factor in our life. In society it is essential to take care of our own assignments because in workplace we are evaluated based on individual results even when working as a team. Grading group assignments by taking each individuals contribution into consideration allows schools to train students for their future responsibilities. For example, A friend of mine always relied on her group mates to earn a passable grade. After graduation she started working as an intern in a big company, she was given an assignment to work on as a team with other interns. Due to competition between coworkers nobody covered for her and the leader of the group revealed to the chief of their department that she had minimal participation. Hence, she wasn't hired and had to look for a new job after her internship finished. Based on this experience, I believe that if grades were assigned individually, she would have been used to working effectively in a group and handling her own responsibilities, consequently she could have gotten hired.

In conclusion, I believe grades need to be assigned individually based on each person’s contributions. Not only does this allow students to take responsibility in the future it makes it easier for some students to work as a team without getting exhausted.