Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As education system continues to develop, the value of grade as a proper assessment has called in to question. Some people believe this way of measuring can stress out kids. Personally, however, I believe it is the rightest way to evaluate kids' performance at school. I feel this way for two main reasons' which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, I highly believe anything that goes obsolete and useless will be eliminated by time. However, since schools were first officially established, grades have been the only assessment. Ample things have changed in education system since old times, but this stayed as a stable factor. This is a prove to the efficiency of this system, it had worked on my parents and as well worked on me. Therefore, I am of the opinion that this is a strict side of school and education, which make students take it serious. For instance, I remember when I was kid, I had so much fun with my classmates and friends. The only thing that declined my wasting time with my friend was the fear of my transcript and final grades. Hence, I felt a pressure to study hard and it benefited me when I grew older.

The other significant reason is that everyone expects a reward on their hard works. Grades are the awards of school time. They are assessments that lead to separate brilliant students and praise them in front of their peers. It also can be a motivation for other students to try harder, since most kids want to draw attention of adults and this is a very healthy way of doing that. My nephew's experience is a compelling example of that. He was really distracted when he was at elementary school. He barely could sit in a place and study for even an hour. His mind was focused on his video games and he couldn't care less about school. However, in a family gathering when his cousin received a gift from my father for her great performance at school, he envied and after that he invested a little of his time and effort on school stuff. This helped him to improve a lot.

In conclusion, I see grades as an effective way to evaluate students at school. This is because usually things that are not helpful or efficient will not survive during long time, plus this is a plausible way to reward children based on that or motivate them to try harder.