Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Every country has different grading system which students should get a good mark to pass the class. While some people think that grade disappoint a student, I think grades encourage students to learn because grades can make competition between students, also make students to learn more often to study in a great college.

Firstly, grades make competition between students. Every student wants to have a good grade in the school or in the course because of that they compete with each other to get the best grade, as a result students struggle more and the will study more. For example, when I was at the high school, I had the 2nd position in my class, so I competed with the boy which had the first position. I study hard to gain the first position, and I got it. Without grade students will not study too much because there will be no competition for it.

Secondly, grade make students to learn more often in order to study in a great college. Every student has the dream to study in a great college or university, so they work very hard to make real their dreams. Every college has the minimum requirement for the grade or GPA. Students should take above the average to be accepted by the university. When I was in the high school, my dream college was Washington college which required above 3.7 GPA from 4. As it was my dream college, I tried a lot to gain above that score, as a result with my hardworking, I get 3.8 GPA and I was very happy about that.

To sum up, I agree grades encourage students to learn because of the two reasons. Grades make competition between students, furthermore students will study more often to be accepted by their dream college.