Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' job than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' job. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the sophisticated world of today, having a job with sufficient income is a vital requirement of a prosperous life. In this regard, one of the most important decisions children have to make is the field of their occupation. Some people hold the opinion that it is beneficial for juveniles to follow their parents and ancestor’s business, on the other side of the continuum, others believe that children will benefit more from choosing jobs other than their parents’. I, personally speaking, stand with the former group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the next two paragraphs.

First of all, following parents’ occupation would help youngsters to become more successful. Parents have been doing that job for many years and they are familiar with all the fluctuation of the business, so they are adept and skillful in that field. When children choose to pursue their parents’ field of work, they have a big opportunity to use their parents’ significant experiences. Also, one of the common obstacles might happen in a workplace is that coworkers or bosses might look at them as a potential competitor, so they don’t tend to share their experiences. However, this problem will never happen in the family business. So, the more experienced person you have around, the more chance of success you will have.

Secondly, by pursuing their parents’ business, children do not have to start from scratch. Their parents had built a business by spending their lives and devoting themselves to create a prosperous profession. Furthermore, their business is being known and reputable and might have good credit which is a result of those years of effort parents had spent. All of these significant benefits are easily in reach for those who select to pursue their ancestor’s business. For instance, my parents are pharmacists and they have a big and well-known pharmacy in the north of Iran. When my youngest sister had chosen to follow my parents’ path and had finished her study in pharmacology, she already had a successful pharmacy with a lot of credit and experiences.

To conclude, it is remarkably advantageous for children to pursue their parents’ business. Not only does this help them to become more successful, by using their parents’ experiences, but it also makes them needless to start from nothing.