Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having a broad knowledge of everything is something which may seem essential in today's life and if we do not have at least some basic information about different topics, we probably face to some problems. In these days, which we have to handle lots of challenges and overcome all of them to have this chance to compete with others, it is necessary to know about different topics. Some people believe that we must increase our knowledge in different fields, while others disagree. In my view, it is better to be focused only on one specific field and become expert in it and I would like to elaborate my opinion with following reasons.

First, life is not that much long to learn everything about different topics. If we want to be expert in all fields, we must live for at least one hundred years and it is not like what our life is really. Nowadays we see how fast everything changes and it is impossible to adapt to the this speed if we focus on so many different fields. On the other hand, if we just put all our efforts on one specific field, we can become an expert in the field, exactly like a mirror which can burn everything, just when it focuses all lights it receives. My own experience is a compelling example of it. Some years ago, when I was a teenager, I used to think that it would be really nice to know five or six different languages and started to learn all of them at the same time. As the result, I took as many classes as I could and the final result was failing in almost all of them, why so I did not have enough time to study all of them really good and finally decided to just focus just on English and become like a fluent and native speaker in just this language.

Second, nowadays everything has became specialized. Some centuries ago, we had so many scientists who were expert in different topics and it was just because of our barely knowledge about the topics we knew about them, but today it is not like that anymore. By happening fast increase in the amount of knowledge men have about different things, every academic subjects have became specialized and each person can focus on only one or some similar and related topics and it is the thing which make becoming expert in everything impossible. As an example, when I started my academic major in food science, I decided to just focus on one topic as my research field, why so if I wanted to focus in broad range of topics, I could not do any good research in any of these fields. That was the time when I decided to narrow my path in science and it was also the thing which helped me a lot to find a supervisor for my PhD degree too.

To cut the long story short, I would like to say that I disagree with this opinion that we must be expert in so many fields and have broad knowledge of many academic subjects, why so it is not possible in real life. As the result, my conviction is that it is better to focus all our energy and effort on one subject and work on it in the best possible way. why so, being a master and expert in one subject is much better than being a jack of all trades and master of none.