Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Research is an important part of our lives. Looking for information is a very effective tool to improve our communities. Some people think it is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet, while others disagree. In my view, it is much better to use the internet. The rationale behind my idea will be elaborated in the next few words.

In order to learn, we must be able to find relevant and useful information.

First, using the internet is more effective. When we use the internet we get the opportunity to reach the most up-to-date information. As printing materials takes a lot of time, this will cause a delay in delivering the information. Moreover, the internet provides more diversity of resources that can enhance the information. For instance, 2 months ago I was doing research in my faculty of medicine with my classmates. We did research about what is called The Broken Heart Syndrome. Surprisingly, we couldn’t find any reliable information in the books as it is a new concept. When we looked at the Pubmed site, which is the biggest database site for medical studies, we found some useful studies about the topic from different countries. Consequently, the internet is better than books for research.

This presentation demanded a lot of research

Secondly, The internet is much cheaper than printed materials. Books require a considerable amount of money for Printing papers, storing in warehouses and shipment fees. All of these fees are not an issue for the internet. Although a lot of research sites require a subscription, it is still much cheaper than books. This is because these sites provide information for millions of studies. Moreover, printing books is consuming a lot of trees and is harmful to nature. For instance, While my years of med school, I used to research from my laptop directly. This helped me a lot to save money. If I were buying every book I had to use, I would spend a huge amount of money. Instead, I only had to pay 30 dollars monthly to subscribe to one site on the internet. When I need some printed books, I used the books in the library. So, the internet is a much better tool for researching.