Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the Internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important that students use the best available resources when they do research. In my opinion, it is far better to use printed materials than online sources. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, printed materials such as books and articles are more reliable than websites because anyone in the world can edit the information on the websites, so even the articles on popular websites might contain incorrect information, also some of the articles are not qualified academics. I had an experience that I was assigned a research paper in physic class. I used some information from the internet, which later turned out to be incorrect, and the professor spotted it, which causing me to fail the assignment and receive a low grade in the class at the end of the semester. If I compared the information with a book or a scholarly article, I would have got a better grade in the class.

Furthermore, books support the article, which you can find it on the internet because book cover topics in much detail, also the textbooks are more useful to students. Students who use them when doing projects can also look at the detailed indexes, which include all topics that help them to focus on a specific topic. For example, I was assigned an essay last semester in a Biology class I consulted contained a long description of the ozone layer and the problems which can make because of their hole. In contrast, most of the online articles that I consulted contained little more than unreal facts. I based my research on the book rather than these articles, so I was able to write a very insightful paper.

At last, I believe that printed information is more useful than online resources. This is because books and printed journals are less likely to be biased or contain errors and because books provide a superior level of detail