Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

We live in the age of information and technology. This era provides us numerous medium for gaining information and data from all around the globe. Some believe that we should not pay attention to the events which will not have direct effect on our daily lives. However, from my vantage point, it is important to know about different issues happening around the world because after all we are all humans, and with paying attention to different phenomena we can boost our knowledge.

First and foremost, from the philanthropic side, we are all human and we should pay attention to various international events. Once in a while, catastrophic events such as earthquake, flood, famine, and so forth may happen around the world. These tragic events may not directly have impact on our lives, but we should pay attention to them. We are all human after all, so we should help other nations in cases of emergency. With knowing about the latest event through the Internet, newspaper, television, social media, and so on, we can become informed about such appalling events and make proper decisions to help them. As a prominent Iranian proverb says "all humans came from the same essence, so we are like the parts of a whole body". Thus, we should become well-informed about event around the world and use our humanitarian sense to help them during the hard times. Hence, the more we gain information about events, the better we can help other people during their hardships.

Furthermore, by paying attention to latest events happening around the world we can heighten our knowledge. All of us agree that knowledge is the foundation of power. To acquire this power in our modern era, we must know about global events. Knowing related or non-related issues from around the globe provide us a lot of practical data. As a result, we can use them in our daily lives. For instance, should we pay attention to latest news about computer technology, medicine, automobile industry, and so on, we can raise our knowledge in those fields. Also we can get in touch with those people and bring these novel technologies to our countries. Recently conducted research shows that people paying more attention to events happening around the world are more capable of inventing new things. We may have some ground knowledge about a matter, but we could not produce anything new because we do not have all the information we need. Hence, with getting the latest news about various events around the world especially in our field of interest, we can combine it with our knowledge and bring about something precious. Thus, the more we obtain information from events around the world, the better chance we have to fortify our knowledge.

All in all, although some people may believe that we live in a hard era, and we just should pay attention to our local problems and combine our regional forces to solve them, I believe that as Bill Gates said "we live in a global village", so it is important to know about different people problems and what is happening around the world. With knowing about these events not only can we become more informed, but also we can help them in the cases of emergency.