Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Which one is more important? Making new friends or keeping old friends? I agree with the latter. People keep chasing their goals, new life, higher salaries, and better job. It is hard to keep everything as the same. Friends can be changed as a person change. Also, living in different time zone and space can decrease the time we spending with old friends. It is better for people to make new friends to adopt different life they are experiencing.

With different environment we are living, our life can be vary from the old ones. Take an university student for example. His life experience can never be the same as his senior high life. His old friends in senior high can hardly share the same topics and interests as he has in the university. It is better for him to move on to a new friend zone in his university.

As we are getting old, we can be altered by our targets. It is difficult to always keep the same personality or hobby. Some people can share the same hobby for a few years but not for a long time. When I was 16, my friends and I liked to ride a bicycle on weekends and having fun together. However, the stress of enter into a good university forced me to give up on this hobby. My friends passed by as I went through their lives. Keeping old friends is less important than making new friends who share the same aims for me.

Different time zone and space can eliminate many relationships. Once people are separated, the relation between them can fade out for lesser time to share stories and hang out together. Instead of keeping old relationships, people should build up new connections with new people around their new lives.

It is more important to having new friends than keeping our old friends, for our personalities, hobbies, and lives can be changed.