Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

A sufficient educational system is one of the prominent aspects of a successful society and debates have increased about education methods recently. Selecting an effective way has been called into question. Someone feels that learning ideas and concepts are of great importance while others believe that understanding facts should be considered as a main priority. Personally, as far as I am concerned ideas and concepts can be major leaders in the process of learning.

To begin with, there is no doubt that education is intended to provide students with sufficient knowledge. Learning ideas not only expand their knowledge but also develop critical thinking skills and deepen the mind which consequently leads to innovations and maybe make their own ideas about something. My best friend experienced this benefit during her time as a sophomore. In one of the classes, the professor introduced an idea that belonged to a famous scientist and mentioned it as a theoretical idea. Although that was a difficult concept, my friend grasped it quickly and developed it by relying on his own expertise. This example demonstrates how learning ideas and concepts can flourish a talented person.

Secondly, providing students with a high-quality education, in other words having qualified teaching staff who provide assistance when students have difficulties in comprehension of concepts is essential. There are various either printed or online resources in which facts have been explained and they have a vast availability for educators. On the other hand, an efficient description of concepts has been rarely found in books and needs experts to explain them to students properly. For instance, two years ago I got sick as a result I could not participate in my classes for almost a week. I faced difficulties in one of the subjects and none of the books had explained it appropriately. So I asked one of my classmates who had recorded our professor's voice to send me that file and as soon as I listened to it I got familiar with ins and outs of that specific concept. This indicates the importance of learning ideas in the class.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that learning ideas is much more useful and practical for learners. This is because ideas broaden a student's mind and also understanding concepts without the help of teachers can be far-fetched.