Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Public transportation has always been an important backbone, supporting the development of cities. However, we are now entering a society which relies heavily on the Internet. Based on the perspective, I think that it is more necessary for governments to support Internet access rather than public transportation.

First, as far as I'm concerned, improving Internet access is actually more cost-effective than the other. While sometimes they serve the same purpose, renovating public transportation requires more amount of money since it includes building or purchasing extensive hardware and labor. For instance, if the government wants to construct a new subway route, they may need to spend money on setting up construction sites, employing workers or buying new trains. On the other hand, cost for improving Internet access, which only requires equipment with smaller sizes and a small pool of intelligent workers, is less expensive.

Furthermore, Internet can serve as important tools which public transportation cannot substitute for. In contrast, public transportation can be easily replaced by Internet services from many aspects. For example, the revolution of the Internet has fascinated the trend of adapting to a more flexible working style. That is, many people shift to working from home, by which they do not have to spend any time on commuting to different places. This has certainly decreased the demand of public transportation.

Last but not least, reliance on Internet services has been surging up nowadays. Lots of companies requires the Internet to help them store and manage data, provide a smooth information flow within employees and managers, as well as offering customized services to their clients. What’s more, as firms have grown larger and more internationalized nowadays, branches located in different countries mainly uses the Internet to communicate. If the government funds more in Internet services, those companies can apply a faster method of transferring data, thus improving the chance of making more profit and raising the nation’s GDP. On the other hand, I am not sure about how public transportation can do the same.

To wrap up, I believe that investing in internet services can be more cost-efficient, for the reason that its serves the community with benefits that can hardly be replaced with, and can enhance a nation’s competitive niche. As a result, spending money on improving Internet access is much more essential than working on public transportation.