Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the proposed statement. In my perspective, to keep old friends is more significant than making new friends. I think when I am a friend of many people it means that I am not close to any of my friends. I think anyone needs to have a close friend because sometimes our friend only can understand us. I assert that having Old friends have advantages than having new friends. Old friends know each other better, they are trusty and we can say very personal things to them.

For example, when I was in high school, I made a friend she was at my table and we saw each other every day. We were helping each other in solving and doing our assignments. We were together all the time in high school so we started to know each other, which makes us sad, happy, or angry. Especially I think at an early age people have a clear heart so they are more trusty and I can be sure that they do not lie as I and my friend did not. I was with my friend for many years, she knew many things about my life like my relationships, my successes so I can talk to her about my personal life.

In contrast, I made new friends when I got a job at a company. They are my friends and I love them but they knew me after I passed a critical period in my life so I can not speak with them about those times, not because they are not good or kind because I need to be understood while they do not know about many things in my life.

After all, making a friend is very important and we must be cautious who is our friend and who is not, because someones just pretend to be our friend and in the time they will harm us for jealousy or anything else.