Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We, human beings, are social creators. I think beyond all kinds of relationships, friendship is much more critical. A man is known by his friends; friends symbolize one's character. Due to this type of relations' importance, some vociferous topics rose to exist. While some people believe that it is better to keep old friends, others consider that new friendships are interesting. In my opinion, maintain old friends do not contradict with found new ones'.

On the one hand, strangers are just friends waiting to happen. Even our most fabulous friends were unknown to us at once. Everybody you meet in your life has the potential to become your friend. New friends bringing their new worldview, broaden our horizons and, generate our mental capacity to overcome life difficulties. There are new topics to discuss, new activities to do together, unique personality traits to discover… while some of our worse encouraging features have become commonplace to our old fellows, they are more observable by new friends.

However, It's an old pro that a friend in need is a friend indeed. We can count on the old friend's support when getting stuck in trouble. They are so reliable and help us even we have nothing to give them back. Old friends know our personality, and they are informed how to behave to alleviate our sadness. For example, when I feel blue, I love to be alone, think about it in my private; it is hard for me to endure others' interference even if they didn't have any kind bad intention; my close friends aware of this and simply they leave me alone to calm down, which it may not right about new friends.

On the other hand, it is impolite to ask for help from someone we recently met. New friends Not only will reject our request, but they may think about us as trouble makers, needy and weak people and decide to broke the relationship at all. This explanation illustrates old friends worse to keep.

In conclusion, there is no dilemma in such a situation as far as I can see. People can keep their old friends because they are most reliable, as well they can make new friends and experience new exciting entertainments, be more praised for those characteristics that old friends became accustomed to, and maybe make some old friend for future.