Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Ideas and facts are two important elements in the formation of knowledge. Ideas are like the beams of a house, and facts are cement of it. And to build a strong and safe house, non of these elements are dispensable. Therefore, I do not agree the statement that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts that for them to learn facts, for the following reasons.

First of all, facts are important evidence for supporting ideas or concepts. Knowledge or finding is valuable when it can be reproduced. A lot of theories that we learned when we are students are theories that have been tested by different people and in different periods of time, so those theories can persisted til today. Therefore, when scholars are writing academic articles, the first principle for them is talking base on the evidence. Otherwise, articles without evidence support may not be convincing to others.

Moreover, facts can also help students to learn the output of an idea. When we are learning a new concept, we usually care about what effect that this concept can bring us. For example, I have a friend who works as a company's marketing specialist. And she always tells me that what her team likes to do is experimenting whether their ideas would work. After the experimental campaign are done the results, which are facts, will help them develop better ideas. However, if her team only care about ideas that they have, rather than the outcome of their ideas, it is likely that they will not be able to find the correct marketing strategy.

Finally, some people may say that idea is fundamental for learning new knowledge, and without idea, we will not have opportunities to consider facts. Nevertheless, if we only have ideas, then our ideas will always be merely theoretical. And it will be hard for people to decide if these ideas are viable or not. I remember that every time I had some ideas for developing new market, I would always talk about my ideas to my boss. Yet, his replies to my ideas would always be “do it first, and if your ideas do not work, then you can ask for my advice.”

In conclusion, despite ideas and concepts play an important role when we are learning something new, without facts, however, those ideas will always be ideas. And they will never have chance to show their practical values.