Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are human beings and we can not live without friends. Choosing new friends over old friends is always difficult, however, in my view, I think keeping old friends is more important. Old friends know very well about me and sometimes making new friends can be waste of time.

First, old is gold. They know about my ins and outs as they are my childhood friends. Old can understand our bad situation in such a way that nobody can. For example, a few months ago my father was died because of covid-19, I was heartbroken very much. Then some of my old friends who are friends when we were in high school came to me, and give their valuable time to me to get rid of the loss. Now, I can give them heartful thanks for their unselfish support. I easily started my normal life after few days. They could help me because they know me well. That's why I can not think of making new friends over my old buddy.

Second, making new friends can be a waste of time. In this modern social media age, people love to engage in social media than in real friends. For instance, for my one-month intern in a city named Khulna, I lived there and every day in the evening I spent some time with the local boys. A few days later, I discovered that some of them are related to drugs. Then I realized that making new friends, it can not always bring good outcome, sometimes bad can be happened and it costs time and also life.

In conclusion, thus with the above in mind, in the long run, promoting the idea that keeping old friends over new friends will lead to the betterment of all involved because of the risk of making new friends in a new place and old is gold.