Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. (2)

Learning is an available master key for all of us to change the world. There is no shortage of opinion on which way to learn is the best for students. In my opinion, understanding ideas and concepts are the most important. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, a student who understood an idea can manage easily the information and share with others what he has learned. This is critically important for the learning process of all the involved. It is demonstrated that when you communicate your ideas, you become able to interiorized deeper your knowledge, taking your knowledge to the next level. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, when I was in elementary school, I was honored with a responsibility of tutoring to my classmates with learning problems. I was aware that the traditional system made them feel uncomfortable, resulting in undesire results. I chose another path, simply I focused on explaining ideas and concepts, going from a big and general picture to a specific concept. I was surprised of the benefits on them after apply this method. He was significantly more concentrated and motivated. Thus, their scores improved a lot. Moreover, I felt that all that I previously known was strongly added to my brain, giving to certain facts a place to be. For this reason, I will always support that students should prioritize ideas and concepts comprehension in their education.

Secondly, imagination and memory work outstanding together. A really effective way to memorize in a long term is just imagine something related. You can achieve an effective visualization with ideas and concepts rather than other ways. Drawing from my own experience, I struggled with some tough tasks during my college time. Enormous equations along my books, trying to explain the nature. There I started to make a visualization in my mind, creating a strong connection between the idea and the maths. For example, if the equation explained how the water turns into ice, I tried to establish first what I was about to learn and imagine the phenomena behind every symbol. In the end, with the idea approach, I had shorter study sessions, but I could carry the new information for a long time. It is certainly clear to see why I prefer to work primarily with concepts and ideas.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that it is much better for students to capture ideas and concepts. This is because they can understand everything easily and feel more comfortable with the topic in turn. Aditionally, you will be able to memorize better in a long term the information that you want.