Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to

understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and

examples to support your answer.

In school, I and my twin sister were very competitive when it came to academics. We were quite different methods when it came to learning. She was the one that learn about different topics from various subjects like learning facts. Contrasting her, my way was very clear and simple as to understand the reasoning, logic, and motive of concepts which help me remember things longer. Hence I support the fact that students should understand ideas instead of learning them as facts. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, I was poor at remembering things since childhood whether it was letters, numbers, tables, and sometimes names. So my mother helped me develop a method to understand things first and then try to remember them, which helped me learn things quicker. Yes, there were few concepts or things on which this method did not work, where I had to write them down several times, or continuously use them to mug them up. During these times I thought looking at my sister that maybe her method is not completely wrong. But, as we grew and kept on going into higher grades, we realized that with few modifications my method was way better when it came to learning different subjects simultaneously. She was not able to remember all the concepts whether it was science, mathematics, geography, or social studies. As, the human brain is a mysterious organ, and after a point, we can't remember things clearly until we apply them or use, or recall them regularly. I agree, maybe in a subject like a history, sometimes we do need to remember concepts like facts. Similarly, in mathematics and science, we do need to remember some formulas to make our work easier. But, to remember them for a long time, understanding the derivation behind those formulas helps us in a great way.

Now, I and my sister have chosen different majors, and the method to understanding ideas and concepts has proved to be feasible. For instance, consider a teacher or professor who is going to teach you a new concept related to the subject. Chances seem to be higher than if the professor is not very familiar with the topic, and he chose to rely on his memory for facts of those concepts, then he will not be able to teach you. Another real-life scenario we can take is using algorithms, charts, and the flow process. In today's fast-moving world, big tech companies also use these methods of algorithms and charts to explain or note down long, lengthy, complex codes of software. They use it because it helps revising, remembering, understanding, or even explaining concepts in a flow, or logical manner.

In conclusion, I fully support the method to understand in-depth any concepts and ideas to learn anything. And students should be applying this method in their studies as well, as in past and present it has proven to help even a callow, uneducated person to learn with efficacy.