Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinion on what is more important to understand ideas and concepts or learn facts. If I were asked, I would definitely say that it’s more essential to understand ideas and concepts than memorize only facts. I will broad some reasons to support my point of view.

To begin with, memorizing facts do not bring any advantages except training students’ memory. On the contrary, efforts to understand the concept would help to improve the logical and critical thinking skills. It is obviously that to understand some idea or concepts student should analyze, evaluate and interpret the information that underlines the main points of the idea. In this regard working on understanding the concept is more impactful for developing skills discussed above.

It is undeniable that people with critical thinking would be more valuable at any job position, than people with the good memory. It ‘s crucial in our world be on the pulse of ongoing research and discoveries to be capable to use what science can offer. Alumni with great memory could be also a useful asset to the hiring company but memory is just a stock of pieces of information not more than that. The capacity for understanding the concepts sort of the need to determine whether the idea is beneficial or not worth trying for realization. Doubtless, people with that capacity will have stronger possibilities in life to get a better job and capability for self-improvement in any field.

The overall relevance of ability for self-study and improvement has higher rate in the today’s society. Those people can acquire any skill they lack for their work would have high value at any field. Although, for the great majority of people tend to procrastinate some of them still working on their self-improvement illustrating hard everyday work toward their goals.

To draw the conclusion, one can say that it is more advantageous to be capable to understand the ideas and concepts then learning facts. I have provided a few sufficient supportive reasons for that.