Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in a world of technological advancement, and it is obviously having a crucial impact on human life. The availability of television advertising for young children aged from two to five years can have a variety of consequences. I believe that children should be prohibited from watching adverts on television at this age. I will explain my position further.

To begin with, adverts on television tend to be one of the ways to increase the profits of companies that manufacture particular products. It is an undeniable fact that those advertising do not do any favors for kids developing neither in physical no in mental maturing. On the contrary, children tend to decrease their improvements in social skills because they spend much less time communicating with their parents and peers. Which can lead to changes in their behavior, and maybe cause psychological spectrum disorders like attention deficit. I can provide a personal example; my cousin was spending so many hours in front of the tv watching not only cartoons but ads also. His main focus was to ask parents to buy him new toys that were famous rather than to work on his skills. He always chooses the TV instead of time with friends or family; after he went to school, he had an ADHD disorder.

For the great majority of parents television is a beneficial thing; they can leave their kid to watch tv and work at home or do something around the house. I think, it is better to let your child participate in any home activity, to teach him or her to keep your environment organized and clean and show that it is essential to take care of yourself and family members with cooking the right meal, for instance. You usually will not see these ideas on the tv advertisements.

To sum up, I think parents should prohibit not only watching ads on television but reduce the amount of time spend watching TV in general, because the deleterious effects are obvious and influence the mental health of young children.