Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this age and time, learning facts and understanding concepts are important. Controversy exists over whether learn facts and understanding ideas are two most vital fundamental aspects for students’ studying progress. In my vantage point, they are complement to each other and both are of paramount importance in studying cycle and in term of whether understanding ideas is more vital for students because not only cant it help us learn fact, but also it is more helpful to the intellectual development of student’s brains.

The first reason that should be mentioned here is that understanding ideas and concepts can help students learn facts better because concepts are the keystone of understanding facts. That is to say, when we were in the class we usually studied concepts first then move to other facts rather than the other way around. For instance, in the study materials about photosynthesis, the front page is usually the essential ideas and concepts of the progress of photosynthesis, after that some facts about some certain types plants will be presented. If these steps are reversed, it will be hard for students to figure out what the facts is about, since they lack the fundamental concepts to understand these facts.

But there is a further more subtle point we must consider. sometimes ideas and concepts can lead people to discover facts. That is to say, the case with the periodic table of the early versions. There were some gaps left between some certain types of elements which, according to the concepts of the periodic table, should belong to the undiscovered elements. As expected, scientist in later decades actually found those elements and filled them into the gaps one by one. This example should perfectly illustrate why concepts is more important than facts.

All in all, both understanding ideas and learning facts are of paramount importance for students and i strongly believe understanding ideas and concepts are vital since it can help student to better learn fact and it is more helpful for them. Who can ignore the prominent role of understanding ideas and concepts in our brain.