Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different from yours.

News resources are one of the most controversial topics in each society. Each resource tries to covers specific part of topics, and it increases the need of following news from different resources and seeing them from the view point of different people. In my view, it is necessary to get the news from the people who are in the other side of our thought. I would like to elaborate on my opinion with the following reasons.

First, hearing the news from another point of view helps people to consider different aspects of topics. Based on this point that none of the news resources are neutral, and each of them are inclined to a power holder, hearing news from the people who hold another point of view makes it possible to see the big picture of the reality. Following the news from limited resources puts people’s mind into a frame, and declines the chance of thinking broadly about different topics. As an example I can mention to the news media in my country, Iran. There are lose of news resources in my country, and each of them adherents a special politician. By having just a glance at each of these data bases, people can easily become aware of different views of each topic, and it helps to think without any bias. This point is one of the reasons for holding this idea that people should hear the news from the people with opposite point of view.

Second, accessing to the news from the people with oppose point of view helps people to think more wisely, and find the truth easier. For obtaining the reality, people should think broadly, and consider all prone aspects which is feasible just by getting the news from people with different opinions. There is always a chance of this point that the news which are more favorable to us do not be true, and people just by paying attention to the opposite side can become aware of this point. My own experience is a compelling example of this point. Three years ago, I was really into a specific political movement, and thought it can really make a huge positive change in my country. My tendency toward that political issue was so much that made me blind, and did not let me to see the whole reality. After some months, a friend of mine, who had another view toward that topic, gave me some information which I was not aware of them, and it could completely change my opinion. This experience led me to this conclusion that people should always give a chance to themselves to hear the news from another side too.

To sum up, Thanks to the tons of news resources it is not hard to become aware of the whole reality, and it is more prone to hear the news from the oppose side. Hearing the news from the side that people are fan of it gives them this chance to follow up the news they are inclined to, but getting them from another point of view, makes it feasible to see the big picture which is more similar to the reality. Moreover, it helps people to think without bias. Based on these justifications, my conviction is that it is necessary for people to hear the news from those who do not hold the same opinion.