Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is not necessary for university students to attend classes as long as they can pass their examinations.

Nowadays, the majority of people tend to have academic educations due to a variety of reasons such as social prestige, job opportunities, and so on. As a result, it is important for them to achieve their desired results after completing the educational program. Although many students may prefer to ignore university classes and only attend the final exams to save their time, I strongly believe that students have to attend classes for a couple of reasons.

First and foremost, university courses are a full package provided in order to enhance student skills in different ways. As an example, professors may define some problems in class, in which the students are assessed in terms of speed which is not included in the final exam. For instance, when I was in my first year in university, we had a mathematics teacher who used to ask us to solve mathematics problems in less than 3 minutes. By this, he intended to strengthen our mathematical minds to be prepared for the final exam. Furthermore, some professors enrich their course program by group activities, which is a way to improve the social communication skill of students as well as their ability to work as a part of the group leading to their success in their future careers.

Moreover, the majority of students intend to choose their future job based on their university education and they learn many fundamentals of the job by passing relevant university courses. Thus, they should be obligated to attend the classes and do not limit their education process to final exams. By limiting the purpose of university to only passing courses, students not only would prevent themselves from learning the basics of each major, but also they would encounter an extra cost both financially and timely, in order to gain the experience they could have gained at university. For example, I have studied civil engineering at university and we had a road construction course, which I did not attend classes and just passed the exam. Currently, I am working as a road construction engineer, I regret that I have to search or ask many basics to find solutions for any single problem I encounter.

To sum up, I believe students have to attend classes in order to take the advantage of each course as a full package which is designed by expert teachers to cover all requirements of students. Besides, it would be an asset for their future professional career, to avoid losing extra time and money to learn essential skills.