Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Job satisfaction is more important than making a lot of money.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the world has placed a premium on improving the work conditions. Although a various array of people advocate solely extrinsic factors are required for the job satisfaction, others argue that both intrinsic and extrinsic factors are necessary. I profoundly argue that a combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors are necessary for job satisfaction. There are several reasons, two of which will be explained in the ensuing essay.

The first reason that I should mention is that most of the factors that have influence on job satisfaction are intrinsic. Paid holidays, bonuses, housing benefits, perks, parental leave, health insurance, pension, commission, and so on are main elements an employee normally will look into when evaluating whether or not a job is desirable. For instance, staff are looking for a new occupation should consider whether or not the company offers valuable benefits. Needless to say, gone are the days when a company would offer benefits to ones who were not capable of doing plenty of jobs. Current employee has shown a tendency to recruit and to offer benefits to those jobholders who are able to perform an array of jobs. As a result, extrinsic values are oriented to versatile and jack of trade people.

Another noteworthy and exquisite reason that I could add is that intrinsic factors are also mandatory for job satisfaction. People crave for a positive self-image and outlook and to have their contribution valued and appreciated. Ones who have an optimistic self-image are more likely to achieve anything they want. Moreover, having a positive attitude toward life helps them to achieve higher job satisfaction irrespective of the job. Not only does it make them far more satisfied with their lives, but it also helps them not to get disappointed when something goes wrong. As an example, a friend of mine working in a company was suddenly made redundant. Actually, the boss announced that there is going to be downsizing all of the sudden. At that time, the company downsized its workforce by 50%. It is allayed that those blue-collar employees who had no intrinsic job satisfaction factors suffered from stress and anxiety for a while, but those staff such as my friend who enjoyed their job for the intrinsic factors easily dealt with that redundancy. As a result, if people attend a job for its intrinsic values, the prospect of not being satisfied with demanding situations and obstacles significantly reduces.

By and large, both intrinsic and extrinsic factors should be intended when it comes to choosing a job.