Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Leadership, the foundation of team working, has been valued and triggers heated discussion over whether it comes naturally. The competence of being a leader, in some people's view, is inherent with born and laborious to be learned. On the contrary, my perspective is that people are possible and necessary to learn to be a leader.

To begin with, never should we ignore that the essential abilities, required by a competent leader, can also be acquired by consulting others or learning from experience. First, by referring to other senior leaders, a person who doesn’t know how to guide a team will have a deeper understanding of the fundamental skills a supervisor should possess. For example, after communicating with successful leaders, he learns the significance to establish harmonious relationships between team members. By involving all the team members in the decision-making process, he will give subordinates chances to exchange ideas with each other. During this course, they become familiar with other and gradually establish intimate relationships, and thus the whole team will be more likely to collaborate well. Besides, a leader can also learn from his own experiences. He may, for instance, learns to accept the opinions from subordinates instead of being stubborn with his own idea. Specifically, if he sticks to his stereotyped thinking and commits some mistakes, he will gradually realize that accepting others' opinions helps revise the possible errors he ignored. Admittedly, these abilities or characteristics can be acquired naturally, but one can also learn to be a leader by imitating other successful leaders or learning lessons from his own experience.

In addition, being a leader not only requires vital skills but also demands some professional expertise, which can exclusively be learned after born. It is well acknowledged that a good leader should make short-term and long-term plans for the whole team. For example, in order to lead a research team on autonomous driving, an executive should make a time schedule and set milestones for the whole team, so that the individuals in this team will have a precise goal they will fight for. This knowledge of managing a professional team should be learned systematically, otherwise, the productivity of the whole team will be undermined. Besides, a leader should also understand the professional knowledge background of each member. Only in this way can this leader assign specific tasks to each member. For example, he may ask some subordinates to research machine learning and assign some members to study the path planning algorithms. However, it is definitely impossible to obtain the expertise by nature. Only via learning diligently can a leader have a comprehensive understanding of the whole group and guide the team in the right direction.

In conclusion, leadership seldom comes naturally since one will be onerous to lead a team without relevant professional knowledge. One can become a successful leader by learning basic skills and proficiency.