Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: "Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.”

Every being born on this planet ultimately strive for one thing, to take a desired career path and succeed in it. However, the meteoric advancements of today's era has made many vulnerable to their job positions as compared with the complacency in earlier times. personally I believe, earlier leading an ensconced life was an easy task. I feel like this for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

As the time have progressed so as our population but at an alarming rate making the survival of the fittest possible. The rise of population have engendered competition making everyone susceptible in their field and making them lead to a life full of hardships. this has resulted in fewer jobs and more number of applicants leading to unemployment. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. my uncle who graduated from a third tier university with below average grades was able to grab the job of software developer at a good salary just because he hold a bachelor's degree which made the company hire him. The aforementioned example shows how easy was it to get a job earlier but now we need to compete with thousands of candidate in order to get a simple job of librarian.

The generation gap between our predecessors and us have changed the meaning of successful life.In today's era people have become more materialistic and they consider themselves successful when they have all the luxuries however such is not the case. For instance, our ancestors lead a very simple life they were contended by living in a small home, graze their livestock and grow their crops. If they have all these three they consider themselves to meet the goals of life and live happily. Therefore, the change in mentality is also responsible in making us believe that in current life is full of privation.

In conclusion, our ancestors were able lead a happy life though they lowly. this is because the level of competition was very low, and because the meaning of healthy and happy life have altered in current scenario which is making us to struggle more to reach our definition of the successful life.