Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertisements are visual demonstrations to increase the purchase of products or services or even increase the awareness of people from their presence. It is conspicuous in many advertisements that products are visualized in a way better picture than what they look like. Some people believe that in most advertisements, the products are manifested in a way that manipulates the audience to persuade them into buying the products. I agree with this statement, and I will elaborate on two main reasons to support my idea.

First, the ultimate goal for companies is to increase their profits, so manufacturers do what they can in order to increase their selling records, which gives a rise in their efforts to disclose their products in a way better than their reality. Managers and other people engaged in business activities always try to escalate their rate of success that is mostly defined by their orders and the number of sales. This process of increasing sales makes them susceptible to lying or concealing the truth hidden behind their products. For instance, I worked for a marketing company two years ago, in which my salary was calculated by the number of products I had sold. The more products I sold, the more wage I could receive. The policy in the company obligated me towards selling more and more of the products by doing whatever I can. I used to tell incredible stories about our products to the customers, or even relate some fancy characteristics I could assign to them. As a result, I sold more products, and my manager was satisfied, but I felt guilty for lying to others and trying to depict the products in a way that seemed more productive or better.

Second, there is a psychological effect in human minds that is Liking Bias, which states that people tend to like what is attractive or seems effective or even represents mutuality with them. I read this effect in one of my classes, and the fact behind this cognitive bias is that advertisement companies use this effect a lot in their efforts. For clarification, it is more likely for you to see people who look handsome in advertisements than people who are not visually appealing. As for the products, people usually attract the image the advertisements include in them, so there should not be a reason for companies to display a negative image into their viewers' minds by confessing about defects that can be associated with the products or their harmful consequences. For example, a snack company will advertise its products in a way the reflects their positive factors, such as deliciousness, being economical, useful for parties or gathering, etc. No snack companies display their products in a way that exhibits their lack of nutrients, unhealthy ingredients, etc. For the mentioned reasons, most advertisements show products in a way that looks better in the eyes of the final customers.

To conclude, although advertisements may include actions of manipulation or deceiving, they are beneficial for companies and even users. The advertisements show products in a way that they seem better than their actual specifications, and this action will increase the profits of manufacturers by more demand from the people. People can also benefit from such products, so the general advantages of advertisements outweigh their disadvantages.