Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The widespread use of advertisements has led to increasing sales figures of products. However, I contend that the elaborate outer appearance of the products is not compatible with what the content actually is. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraph.

First of all, the package about products provides consumers with a view that what they are going to buy lacks drawbacks and negative properties. In other words, most advertising companies try to convince and attract people by mentioning gorgeous designs and perfect jargon on the cover. These two features sometimes intrigue customers because people will feel satisfied when they first uncovered the items after they go home. However, the fact is that the content is sometimes useless and lacks the practical utility that most of the public wants. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I bought a product which is advertised fiercely on the TV as a Christmas gift for my girlfriend, she originally felt cheering and I could see the smile on her face when she received it directly. However, after she examine the actual content of the merchandise, it turned out that I actually bought items at a comparatively high price compared with goods that are sold out in a supermarket. It is because the persuasiveness of advertisements and reliance on them trigger me to make irrational shopping and misunderstand what items really are.

Secondly, the existence of advertisements on products is often endorsed by well-known celebrities, leading to the fact that people won’t examine the content inside the package and believe them directly. For example, news from TV programs once revealed that a proportion of people buy tremendous numbers of goods endorsed by one famous celebrity. However, these aren’t actually the necessity the buyers need, and more shockingly, what journalists discovered from those items suggests that the endorsed products have expired for almost three months. It is because of the sheer reliance that celebrities are upright and friendly to their followers, the news that people are cheated by advertisements is ubiquitous in society.

In conclusion, people hold opposite views when it comes to the utility and effects that advertisements bring about. I believe that the endorsed products offer customers an illusion that they are better than what they actually are.

This is because there isn’t negative information encompassing on the cover and people will simply believe what they see and hear without examining.