The extended family is less important now than it was in the past

Due to the increasing rate of industrialization and urban development, the number of extended families has plunged drastically. I believe the function of the extended family has decreased significantly. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraph.

First of all, the existence of the extended family in the past serves as the assistance of taking care of young children if some of their family members need to work outside. However, job opportunity nowadays is abundant in urban areas. If people choose to stay in rural areas where most extended family exists, workers are paid relatively less compared to those who work downtowns. My experience is a compelling example of this. In the past, there are numerous carpenters and farmers in my hometown. Because of the need for tremendous labor in these industries, most citizens here live with relatives, forming extended families everywhere. However, when these industries suffer from the competitiveness of companies overseas, local workers had no choice but to leave for larger cities in order to earn a higher salary. Therefore, the function of the extended family has gradually disappeared due to the transformation of social structures.

Secondly, people in the past tend to live together or at a relatively close distance to take care of each other and form the relationship of belongings. Nonetheless, this tradition has become a memory of the past. It is because people are now crammed with their works and studies. They have to take heed of what is happening individually, not to mention caring about their relatives. For example, people used to provide their family members with caring services about young infants if people need to go outside. However, it turns out that most people now seek assistance from nannies or professional caregivers because of the distance between family members. Eventually, the relationship and connection between relatives are nowhere to be found and relatives could only meet with each other a few times in a year.

Even though a proportion of people contend that the importance of the extended family has remained, the popularity of this family structure has indeed elapsed given the fact the increasing numbers of DINK families. With fewer family members in a home and a larger distance between relatives, it is inevitable that people will find difficulties in finding this rare phenomenon in the future.