Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling has always been acclaimed as one of the top choices for people to relax in this fast-paced society. I believe that traveling with people who are experienced with the knowledge of the tourist sites is essential. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraph.

First of all, going to a tourist attraction with an expert in this field provides tourists with a comprehensive view to delve into the meaning behind buildings and sites. Without guidance and knowledge offered from them, people may simply take pictures in front of the historical sites, losing the golden opportunity to understand the social and historical context of tourist sites. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I first arrived at the Statue of Liberty in New York, I was fascinated by the magnificent view and couldn’t help taking pictures from different perspectives. However, I didn’t have any idea about the background of the construction of this artifact, but simply regard it as a method to catch up with the attraction of tourists. After the tour guide in our team mentioned its historical importance, I found out that this statue is full of the profound meaning behind what most people first see it. Had it not been the professional advice from the experts, I would just have appreciated the artifact from superficial and secular viewpoints.

Secondly, the company of a tour guide ensures personal safety and helps deal with potential problems that tourists may encounter. This is because people tend to be nervous and make rushed decisions when they face with urgent situations.

For example, when all my family members went to the USA to congratulate the summer vacation, my little brother got lost because of his curiosity about the local toys. After looking for him for two hours, it was still in vain. However, when our tour guide heard the news, he immediately called the local police which he had met before. Also, he borrowed the sound amplifier from the local shops to voice his volume of informing my little brother. Soon, when my little brother heard about the familiar voice, he went back to us. Thanks to the professional practice that the tour guide made in this emergency, this crisis could be solved successfully and instantly. Without the help from the tour guide, a proportion of people must feel confused and anxious when encountering an emergency.

In conclusion, people sometimes hold opposite views on whether the existence of a tour guide is necessary if they take a vacation and go to tourist sites. I contend that guidance from the experts in tourism is necessary because they deliver the professional information that moat people lack about the tourist attractions and serve as an immediate assistant when clients encounter problems.