Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undoubtedly true that technological advancements, especially the invention of the Internet, had provided modern people with much more comfortable and convenient lives. I am of the opinion that governments should regard the Internet access as one of the necessary infrastructures without paying fees.

To begin with, the provision of the Internet can benefit all citizens everywhere without being interfered by global or local issues, such as the outbreak of diseases and the lockdown due to disasters. That is, the those who live in much remote areas can still acquire the latest information and knowledge that students need. Take the remote education during the pandemic for example, students and workers will have a higher tendency of contracting Covid-19 due to the contact with their peers and colleagues. If the Internet is available to all citizens in the society, the function of the education and working system could still act successfully. The external factors will never become a hindrance that pose a negative consequence to people’s lives.

Secondly, the offering of the Internet can gradually eliminate the gap between students who live in the downtown and remote areas because of the discrepancy of the educational resources. It is because that there are numerous interacting applications utilized to connect students with the material that students need to learn. In addition, other professional experts and educators can directly deliver the professional message and information which is relatively limited in the far-away areas. My own example is a compelling example of this. When I was a remote tutor online as a volunteer, I was assigned to two teenagers to take of their academic performance and mental development. Because their parents all left their hometown to earn higher salary, it turned out that students there are in shortage of companying and guidance to their studies. After the instruction for almost six months, these two young children started to garner acclaimed academic performance from both their teachers and parents. It is because the pouring of online assistance that instruct them to a promising future.

In conclusion, the access to the Internet could provide society with benefits that are as necessary as other infrastructures. Not only because the remoted areas wouldn’t be interrupted by accidents but also governments could bridge and narrow down the urban-rural gap