Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the contemporary society, with the progression of the technology, especially the Internet, more people get the easy access to the information ranging from various fields. However, not all people hold the similar attitude toward the specific issue, suggesting that a certain group of people will not regard other people’s opinions as useful feedbacks. I, on the contrary, contend that we people should value the different views which are against you as valuable for the following reasons.

To commence with, those who hold different views on the same topics compared with what you have thought serve as a mento in assisting you in delving into the in-depth of the same issue. In other words, those who hold different views from you are people who contemplate and make comments with their knowledge and subjective opinion endowed from their education background. There is actually not a quite clear boundary for whether who is right or false. By taking the other people’s opinions from their specialization, we can also take another perspective to completely find out the comprehensive aspect of one issue, which is helpful not only in the work field but also when interacting with other people. When I was a intern in the summer, I need to cooperate with another partner from different the different major to finish the assigned project. In the preliminary process, we sometimes hold different views for coping with the mutual challenge that we encounter, leading to a frequent quarrel and delaying the schedule of the project. However, after we meet each other halfway and respect the opinions of each other, it turns that the consensus made from the mutual discussion made the project highly acclaimed by our supervisor.

Another reason for valuing other people’s opinions as important assets than yours is in a way to help cultivate the attitude of modesty and the generosity to listen to other people’s opinions. People sometimes insist on their original belief solidly without taking other people’s opinions as suggestions, which makes those people be in a high risk of neglecting the certain subtle but important part of one issue. Under the circumstance, without the useful and constructive advises from other people, the final success of the project and goal of one person will gradually be far away from you. This thesis could also be proved accurately when I was finally willing to take the advices from my partner in my intern period. With the provided advices, I found out that something too subtle to be neglected. And after the revision from the errors that we both find out together, we finally make a satisfactory accomplishment. And just because we stat to listen to what other people expressed, we gradually become a much better friend.

In conclusion, it is indisputable that the opinion of one topic may to some extent vary from person to person. However, by valuing other people’s opinions as a more important asset than you, we could look the comprehensive aspect of the topic and also cultivate the attitude of modesty ,which are both helpful when we get along with other people.