Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: The most important problems affecting our society today could be solved within our lifetime.

In the sophisticated today’s world where we live, human beings encounter so many problems. Many of these problems affect some important aspects of people’s life. In this regard, some people think they can get these problems solved during their life. Others, on the other hand, believe that it is less likely to get rid of these problems over their lifetime. I, for one, concur with the latter group for two conspicuous reasons that I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

One of the most obvious reasons that comes to mind is that in our progressive world administrators and practitioners pay all their attention to making money and do not care about the general public’s benefits. To put it in another word, governments around the world are not responsible for the fate of human beings, and they prioritize their own advantageous. Take global warming, one of the serious problems of today’s world, as an example. The new generation expects governments in to pass laws and do some practical activities in order to decrease the rate of global warming. However, because of the huge financial benefits which fossil fuels provide, they do not cut down using them. In such circumstances, we cannot be optimistic about addressing the global warming problem during our lifetime.

Another exquisite reason is that most people around the world are reluctant to do voluntary activities which are conducive in making a well-being society. Although there are many people who do philanthropic activities, most people think about their own desires and do nothing to improve the situation of their society. To illustrate, in every corner of the globe there are many underprivileged persons that live in bad conditions; they do not access to enough food, proper medicine, and school to name but a few. On the other hand, most of the wealthy ones think only about luxury possessions such as expensive cars, big house, and expensive trips. In such a situation, social gaps will increasingly grow between poor and rich. So, I think we cannot expect poverty will be managed in society because people do not care about each other’s life.

In conclusion, having the two mentioned reasons into account, I firmly believe that the most crucial problems of our world like global warming and poverty cannot be solved during our lifetime. In our world, not only do governments sacrifice the public’s benefits for their own benefits, but also people are not sensitive about each other’s life.