Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can doubt the important role that the media plays in our lives because it is one of the ways that people use to entertain and to explore the surrounding world. Some people believe that TV and movies have huge disadvantages, especially for youngsters, and others have an opposite point of view. In my opinion, I think that the benefits that young people gain from watching television surpass its negative effect, and that for some reasons which I will explain in deep details in the upcoming paragraphs.

First and foremost, the television is a good source of knowledge and information because it displays a lot of informative programs that speak about almost all fields. To support my view, I will clarify it with an example from my personal life. When I was in high school, I was still living in my country, and it was hard to take lessons with a tutor to explain hard subjects because my parents couldn't afford the expenses to pay for a private teacher. So, I was frustrated because I had many problems to understand chemistry and biology. Fortunately, my friend told me that there were some programs on the television that explain and simplify the high school chemistry and biology curriculum. Therefore, I watched those programs and I followed all of their instructions on how to answer chemistry and biology harsh questions. In my experience, without the assistance of the television's programs, I couldn't understand the chemistry and the biology when I was a high school student.

Second of all, movies kill our free time and help us to escape from our stressful situations. In case of young people that suffer from a lot of unused time, television plays an important role in their lives because it helps them to entertain and enjoy alone or with their friends. For instance, my two teenage daughters feel very bored from staying home during this time because we were in quarantine since March 2020 due to the uncontrolled wide spread of the fatal virus, Covid 19. But when my daughters started to watch movies and follow some entertaining programs, they became to a certain extent happier than before. Moreover, they decide to watch programs that explain the culture of other countries like India and Egypt. Thus, those shows were like traveling without moving. As you can see, despite of all the stressful circumstances that we live through, movies and TV shows help us to overcome this hard situation.

All in all, the advantages of movies and TV shows exceed their disadvantages for youngsters because they are good sources of knowledge and also they help people to overcome and escape from their real anxious lives.