Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It goes without saying that movies and television affect people directly or indirectly. There has always been a controversial debate on whether they have more advantageous or more disadvantageous especially on youngsters. As far as I am concerned, I believe that they provide more good than bad for us and I have this idea for many reasons, two of which are discussed hereunder.

First and foremost, there are so many informative programs that can affect young people positively. There is no doubt that many programs may have detrimental effects on people’s behavior.But if we look more carefully we will realize that numerous programs such as cooking programs, phycological or scientific ones, news, and even many TV series can be so informative and useful. Take me for example to illustrate this. Last year I wanted that I wanted to get married asnd I did not be able to cook. I was so confused and also I did not have enough money to participate in cooking classes. As I lived alone I had no way to learn cooking and even cooking books could not help me. After a week, one of my friends told me about a cooking program on TV. I decided to try it so I started to watch that program. Only after a month I learned how to cook without paying no money. Now I am skilled enough to cook even for big parties which would not have been possible without this instructive program. Therefore, TV had more positive effects than negative effects on me as a young person.

Another reason which worth mentioning here is that the movies and TV programs provide the opportunity to get acquaintance with a variety of cultures. Movies of each country are usually constructed due to the culture of that society. Although they may be so different from yours, they are a good means for knowing about people’s culture all around the world. Since it is not plausible for all people to travel to different countries because of costs which are so high, movies can have a profound impression in achieving this goal. For instance, I am eager to know about different cultures in Europ since I am planning to immigrate to France in order to continue my education. Besides, I have to learn their language. By watching French movies I got familiar not only with French language but also with their culture and traditions. Even I know the country better than an indigenous person because the movies represent different places in a country. Hence by movies and TV programs, I could become familiar with miscellaneous aspects and challenges of living in French. Consequently, movies help me to get prepared for prevailing over possible difficulties of living abroad.

To make a long story short, one can readily realize that television and movies have more positive effects that negatives effects for youngsters, providing they use them properly. But one question will raise that how to preclude them from incongruous uses of television?