Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In civilized and modernized societies, the behavior of youth has always been among primary concerns of human beings’ lives. Today, it is axiomatic that young people spend the longer part of their life watching TV. A plethora of people possess the conviction that watching TV and movies has more negative effects compared to its merits, whereas others might hold exactly the opposite view. I firmly endorse the first conviction instead of the latter. In what follows, I am going to aptly delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that youth should more concentrate on their lessons in order to enhance their aptitude in their favorable field. It should be stressed that when they highly watch movies and television, they will have likely less time for focusing on their courses and abilities. In addition, it is possible that youth can be lazy individuals because of watching movies extremely. For example, I have the friend who was the top student among her classmates. After a while, she got married with one of her classmates. The important point here is that they did not buy the television due to pay much more attention their studies. Accordingly, they obtained the fund for PhD position and went to the most famous university known Stanford University in America. Consequently, they would not have gone this university had they spent more time on watching movies and television.

Another noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that from psychological point of view, it is better that youth do more exercise and communicate with their fiend and family instead of watching movies. In fact, it can give rise to an increase of satisfaction and quality of life. By and large, it is established beyond doubt that those who do exercise and go to sport gym are happier than those who stay home for watching television in their spare time. Meanwhile, most of characters in movies are smoking, which can negatively affect the behavior of young people and increase their tendency to smoke. Moreover, the noteworthy statistics revealed by a social research in my country, show that the rate of depression among dormant and inactive youth is more than people who do physical activities. Therefore, watching movies can intensify depression rate among youth and endanger their health.

To put it in briefly, all the enumerated reasons lead us to the conclusion that watching movies can not only can cause youth to spend less time doing and focusing their works, but they can also pursue role models that have bad manners. However, a paramount issue that must be mentioned is that some counterexamples might exist, which are not mentioned above. As a result, conducting more surveys and studies is suggested to answer this question more precisely.