Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Nowadays people are more willing to help people they don't know (for example, by giving clothing and food to people who need them) than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples

Generosity and helping poor people are some of the best characteristics of humans. It is advised in many different ways in almost all of the religions and cultures around the world. Society is often divided on when people were more generous, today or in the past. I disagree with the idea that people are more eager to help nowadays. There are two reasons why I subscribe to this idea, which are separately elaborated upon in the following essay.

First, recognizing real poor people from fake ones is more difficult now. To explain more, in the past just people who were in trouble asked others for help and when someone came across with one of them could decide easily to help or not. However, these days many deceivers are not poor and just pretend to catch money easily without any effort. Take my experience as an example, last year I was in the airport waiting in line to take my passing card. Suddenly, a woman got close to me and asked for money very politely to buy a ticket to her home. I helped him but a man standing in line next to me told me that he saw that woman the previous week at the same place begging people. As a result, it is very hard for charitable people to decide to help or not.

Second, in the past money had a less important role in human life, therefore, giving it to the poor was easier. Nowadays, economic issues have a prominent role in life, people work very hard most of their lives to gain money then fulfill their dreams. There is always a list of incomplete ambitions in the mind of every person, therefore, they plan for each penny carefully. With regards to this importance, being generous is more difficult. There is a story in our culture about a generous religious leader who gave all the food in his house to the poor behind the door who was hungry. In contrast, people now have big fridges full of food in their houses but even do not answer the ring if someone asks for food.

To sum up, I firmly believe that people in the past were more kind and giving. This was because just real poor asked for help, however, deciding to help was easy, also money or other materials were of less importance that made it easier to donate.