Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Today, access to different sources of news is a necessary factor for people who live in complicated societies. Each person has an inclination toward issues happening in society and listening to the news can affect these attitudes. Some news are in your favorite, whereas some others may be against your belief. I agree with the idea that people should listen to news presented from a different point of view. There are two reasons why I subscribe to this idea, which are separately elaborated upon in the following essay.

First, listening to different opinions will correct our decisions positively. If people always hear in favor of their points, it will strengthen their ideas to finally form a hard belief in their minds, which is now very hard to change. By taking into consideration that nothing is absolutely right, people need to regularly correct their views to do not deviate from norms severely. This is possible just by considering the opposite side of views because they try to show you your weaknesses or any points out of your consideration. As an example, if citizens who want to vote just listen to the advertisements of one party and do not consider the other's points, it is likely that they make a biased choice. It is better if they first listen carefully to both sides, then decide which one deserves their votes.

Second, by looking at others' perspectives, people will be able to detect their faults and weaknesses. To explain more, whereas opposite points can challenge our thoughts and compel us to think more deeply about our understandings, consented views just amplify our beliefs. This amplification can lead us to be fanatic hard-minded person who is unable to discuss correctly. A fanatic citizen is a potent threat to society and needs immediate remediation to prevent further damages. Therefore, people should always keep themselves in contact with different points of view, because it is beneficial for them and their society. As an instance, fundamentalism usually grows in closed societies where the ruler or the state blockages the free circulation of information. Consequently, a typical belief gains the opportunity to obsess people's minds in order to convert them to mindless supporters.

To sum up, I think that watching or listening to all different views in society is very beneficial for both individuals and society as a whole. This is because opposite opinions open up our eyes and help us to decide and behave better.