Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

There has been a serious debate among people about how our children should be ready for adult life. When it comes to this issue, some people believe that children should only focus on their study and don't participate in other works while some others disagree and claim that children should attend in some part-time jobs while they are studying their lessons to be ready for their adult lives. From my point of view, I suppose that the second idea carries more weight due to some reasons which I will explain.

Above all, there is an old proverb which says: "people can't understand the value of money unless they achieve it on their own." In other words, if we always give money to the children, they won't figure out how it is valuable and how parents should work too hard to make ends meet. So, they spend it on something which aren't worthwhile. For instance, my cousin always asked his father to give him a large amount of money to play in some clubs. In my opinion, that was a complete waste of money, but he did it. When his father sent him to a photocopy store as a part-time job, he no longer went to those clubs since he found out how the money is valuable.

The second reason why I feel that way is about time management. When children have a part-time job, they have a limited time to study their lessons. Hence, they will understand how they should manage their time. Take my younger brother for example, when he took a part-time job, he got better grades in his lessons. He explained that how taking a part-time job lead to manage his time better than previous. So, it is not a big deal for children and they can make it.

The other reason which deserves some words is that by taking a part-time job, children can put their energy into something that result in better condition for them. To be more exact, it can prevent them to take part in some events that are not appropriate for them. My neighbor's child is a compelling example of that. He used to go to some clubs to use his energy and he usually stay out till 2 AM which were really detrimental for him. But after he took a part-time job, he usually comes home at about 8 PM.

In conclusion, given the facts that by taking a part-time job, children will understand the value of money, will manage their time more efficient and will be able to put their energy into effective things. As a result, I strongly agree with that statement.